7 Best Books Like It Ends With Us – Fans Should Read

It Ends With Us - Coleen Hoover - Book Summary
It Ends With Us - Coleen Hoover - Book Summary

Enjoyed reading It Ends With Us? Well we certainly did as it is another masterpiece by Colleen Hoover that leaves a deep impact on its readers.

The story of Lily, Ryle, and Atlas is one of the most heart-wrenching and emotional love triangles you’ll ever come across. The author’s writing style is simple yet effective, and the pacing is just right.

But now that you’ve already read It Ends With Us and are looking for more books, we’ve got your back. We’ve got you covered with a list of seven romantic-fiction books that are just as captivating and emotionally charged as It Ends With Us.

Each book on this list has well-developed characters and a storyline that will make you laugh, cry, and fall in love. So, get ready to lose yourself in these unforgettable tales of love and heartbreak.

1: It Starts With Us

It Starts With Us by Colleen Hoover - Book Summary

“It Starts With Us” follows the story of “It Ends With Us”, that left readers rooting for Lily Bloom to escape her toxic relationship with Ryle Kincaid.

In “It Starts with Us,” readers get the closure they need as the story picks up almost a year later and includes Atlas Corrigan’s perspective. The loose ends that readers were looking for are tied up, revealing what happened when Lily’s dad caught Atlas in her room and how he ended up in the same city as Lily years later.

While the story deals with heavy themes of abuse and justice, it also provides hope, love, and healing that readers have been longing for. Although Ryle’s actions in the first novel were unforgivable, readers get to see Lily escape her abusive marriage and find a solution that works for her.

This necessary sequel gives readers the authentic and true happy ending that these characters both need and deserve. Though it may not be full of twists and pain like Colleen Hoover’s signature style, “It Starts with Us” is a satisfying and emotional read that readers will love.

2: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo Book Summary

“The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” is a story about a legendary Hollywood actress named Evelyn Hugo, who has had a long and successful career in the film industry. The story begins when Evelyn, now 79 years old, agrees to grant an exclusive interview to a relatively unknown journalist named Monique Grant. Despite being unsure of why she was chosen for the job, Monique eagerly accepts the opportunity to meet with Evelyn and hear her story.

Once Monique arrives at Evelyn’s home, she quickly realizes that the actress doesn’t just want to give an interview. She wants Monique to write her biography and reveal every detail of her life. As Evelyn’s story unfolds, the reader is taken on a journey through her calculated rise to fame in Hollywood. It involves her many marriages as each section of her life is titled by each of her seven husbands. The sections also cover her reasons for marrying (and divorcing) them.

The book is a captivating read, with Taylor Jenkins Reid’s writing skillfully drawing readers into the gritty details of Evelyn’s life. It’s a shocking Hollywood expos√© that feels so real. The characters and events are so vividly portrayed that readers will forget they’re reading a work of fiction. With drama, love, loyalty, and LGBTQ+ representation, this novel is a must-read for anyone looking for a good drama book or interested in LGBTQ+ representation.

3: The Love Hypothesis

The Love Hypothesis Book Summary

“The Love Hypothesis” has gained popularity for good reason: it offers a unique love story. The book tells the story of Olive Smith, a Ph.D. candidate studying pancreatic cancer at Stanford. After impulsively kissing the department’s notoriously brutal but undeniably attractive professor, Adam Carlsen, the two agree to fake a relationship to serve their own purposes.

Unlike many other romance novels, “The Love Hypothesis” devotes significant attention to Olive and Adam’s lives outside of their romance. This makes their love story more believable and interesting, and the book successfully combines two popular tropes, “Fake dating” and “grumpy/sunshine.” Despite following these tropes, the story feels fresh because it is largely about Olive’s work and its significance to her.

The book’s authenticity is a result of the author’s personal experiences, which are reflected in the story’s honest portrayal of the challenges Ph.D. candidates face in academia. Olive and Adam must navigate issues such as funding, time-consuming research, and questioning their sense of purpose. This deepens the characters, settings, and romance and makes “The Love Hypothesis” a refreshing and enjoyable read.

4: People We Meet On Vacation

People We Meet On Vacation Book Summary

People You Meet on Vacation tells the story of Polly and Alex, two best friends who have a tradition of taking an annual summer trip together. However, after a misunderstanding, their friendship goes on hiatus for two years. When Polly feels unhappy with her life, she decides to reconnect with Alex. She asks him to take one more trip together to prove that they can be friends again. But the question is whether they both want that or something more.

The book offers a fresh take on the friends-to-lovers story by using a nontraditional narrative structure. It jumps in time throughout their summer trips to show the evolution of their friendship and the unspoken attraction between them. The story is more than just a simple romance. It delves into the complexities of combining two lives and questioning whether it is what both parties want.

Overall, People You Meet on Vacation is an engaging, feel-good and enjoyable read. The book offers a unique perspective on the classic romance trope.

5: Verity

Verity Colleen Hoover - Book Summary

Verity is a gripping novel that combines psychological thriller, mystery, suspense, gothic fiction, and crime genres.

Lowen, a struggling writer who accepts a job offer from Verity Crawford. Verity is a critically acclaimed author who is currently unable to write due to an accident. Lowen is tasked with completing Verity’s unfinished book by sorting through her notes and manuscripts at her family home. While there, Lowen discovers Verity’s chilling autobiography that reveals tragic events that have impacted her family. Lowen decides to hide the manuscript from Verity’s husband, Jeremy, and develops romantic feelings for him, which complicates the situation.

The novel is defined by three unreliable narrators, each with their own hidden agenda. That itself offers an artful twist which the keeps readers engaged. The story is a thought-provoking exploration of moral dilemmas and the consequences of one’s actions. Verity is an excellent example of contemporary fiction, and Colleen Hoover’s writing is of the highest quality. The book is a page-turner that is impossible to put down, and it will leave readers wanting more.

6: Where The Crawdads Sing

Where The Crawdads Sing Book Summary

“Where the Crawdads Sing” is a compelling novel by Delia Owens. It follows the story of Kya, a girl who is abandoned by her family and learns to survive on her own in the marshes. The story alternates between Kya’s childhood and the mystery of a murdered man. Owens’ makes sure that her writing seamlessly blends the two storylines. The novel transforms the marsh from a dark and disgusting place into a thing of beauty. It is much like how Kya is transformed in the eyes of the townspeople.

The book has sold more print copies than any other adult title in 2019. It surpassed the combined print sales of new novels by John Grisham, Margaret Atwood, and Stephen King. The book has been a literary sensation, with foreign rights sold in 41 countries and demand for the book continuing to grow.

Owens writes in a smooth and exquisite style, creating a compelling and unforgettable character in Kya, who is labeled as “the marsh girl.” Through her interactions with the creatures of the wild, Kya learns to rely on the marsh to survive and finds the love she desperately craves. “Where the Crawdads Sing” is a novel that takes readers on a journey of survival, love, and redemption. Owens’ skillful writing ensures that the story flows seamlessly between the two timelines.

7: Beard With Me

Beard With Me Book Summary

“Beard With Me” is a captivating novel that tells the tale of Billy Winston and Scarlet St. Claire, also known as Claire McClure. This book is the 6th installment in the “Winston Brothers” series and serves as the origin story of the epic love between Billy and Scarlet. The story is set entirely in the past and is narrated from dual points of view.

As the story unfolds, we learn more about the Iron Wraiths and how they play a significant role in Scarlet’s life, as she is the daughter of their leader. Previous “Winston Brothers” books have mentioned the motorcycle club, but this book really delves deep into their connection. It makes it impossible to ignore that.

The story is an intriguing one. Scarlet is just 14 years old and is trying to distance herself from the Wraiths. While Billy, who is 16, is attempting to stay connected to his family while keeping others out. When their paths cross, Billy is initially unkind to Scarlet, but as their relationship develops, they build a deep emotional bond.

While the majority of the book tells a typical story about teenagers falling in love, it is the tragic epilogue that leaves readers devastated. Despite this, the story is complete. The readers know that somehow Reid will bring Billy and Scarlet together to give them the happy ending they deserve. The book also contains one of Cletus’s classic jokes, which adds humor to the otherwise emotional story.

This book is a solid addition to the Winston Brothers series. Reid’s growth as an author over the years is evident in her writing. Readers will eagerly await the next book in the series after finishing this one.

Photo of author
Published By: Anant

Leave a Comment